College Intel
← Back to colleges

Eastern Illinois University

Public

Charleston, IL

Visit website ↗

Located in Charleston, IL, Eastern Illinois University is a public mid-sized school with roughly 4,188 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 65% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians shows the strongest outcomes -- $81,362/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate65%
SAT range880–1090
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads4,188
Yield (admits who enroll)11%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$26,996
4-year grad rate46%
Median earnings, 10yr out$51,989

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Eastern Illinois University's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Eastern Illinois University weighs your application

From Eastern Illinois University's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayConsidered
RecommendationsConsidered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Eastern Illinois University actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Eastern Illinois University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans31%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out58%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$53,725/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$70,704/yr
Accounting and Related Services$66,840/yr
Marketing$62,994/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$60,985/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$59,401/yr
Communication and Media Studies$57,887/yr
Journalism$54,038/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$72,220/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$54,548/yr
Special Education and Teaching$47,566/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,190/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$81,362/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$47,222/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$49,209/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$60,473/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$49,556/yr
History
History$40,597/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$52,078/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$54,791/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$50,502/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$49,424/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,478/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$61,519/yr
Sociology$48,925/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$49,236/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$39,923/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity4,304
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Eastern Illinois University look for in applicants?

Per Eastern Illinois University's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Eastern Illinois University's acceptance rate?

Eastern Illinois University in Charleston, IL admits approximately 65% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Eastern Illinois University?

Admitted students at Eastern Illinois University typically score between 880–1090 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Eastern Illinois University cost?

Eastern Illinois University's total cost of attendance is reported at $26,996 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Eastern Illinois University require students to live on campus?

No -- Eastern Illinois University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Eastern Illinois University against another school?

Open the comparison view