College Intel
← Back to colleges

Dordt University

Private

Sioux Center, IA

Visit website ↗

Dordt University, in Sioux Center, IA, is a private small school, enrolling around 1,597 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 68% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Mechanical Engineering shows the strongest outcomes -- $78,118/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate68%
SAT range1070–1330
ACT range21–29
Undergrads1,597
Yield (admits who enroll)34%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$51,733
4-year grad rate68%
Median earnings, 10yr out$52,559

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Dordt University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Dordt University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans41%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out91%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agricultural Business and Management$62,171/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$77,629/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$74,869/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,531/yr
Engineering
Mechanical Engineering$78,118/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$66,190/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,200
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Dordt University's acceptance rate?

Dordt University in Sioux Center, IA admits approximately 68% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Dordt University?

Admitted students at Dordt University typically score between 1070–1330 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Dordt University?

Admitted students at Dordt University typically score between 21–29 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Dordt University cost?

Dordt University's total cost of attendance is reported at $51,733 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Dordt University require students to live on campus?

No -- Dordt University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Dordt University against another school?

Open the comparison view