College Intel
← Back to colleges

DePauw University

Private

Greencastle, IN

Visit website ↗

DePauw University, in Greencastle, IN, is a private small school, enrolling around 1,905 students. It's moderately selective, admitting about 57% of applicants. Among reported majors, Computer Science shows the strongest outcomes -- $120,076/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate57%
SAT range1200–1410
ACT range28–32
Undergrads1,905
Yield (admits who enroll)14%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$74,320
4-year grad rate77%
Median earnings, 10yr out$70,527

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against DePauw University's numbers?

Check your chances here

How DePauw University weighs your application

From DePauw University's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankImportant
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayImportant
RecommendationsImportant
Nonacademic factors
InterviewConsidered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyConsidered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how DePauw University actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what DePauw University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans32%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out82%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$63,099/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$69,228/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$120,076/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$51,983/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$62,917/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$71,696/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$94,761/yr
Political Science and Government$79,117/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$39,430/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,300
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does DePauw University look for in applicants?

Per DePauw University's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA, rigor of secondary school record as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is DePauw University's acceptance rate?

DePauw University in Greencastle, IN admits approximately 57% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for DePauw University?

Admitted students at DePauw University typically score between 1200–1410 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for DePauw University?

Admitted students at DePauw University typically score between 28–32 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does DePauw University cost?

DePauw University's total cost of attendance is reported at $74,320 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does DePauw University require students to live on campus?

No -- DePauw University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing DePauw University against another school?

Open the comparison view