College Intel
← Back to colleges

CUNY Hunter College

Public

New York, NY

Visit website ↗

Located in New York, NY, CUNY Hunter College is a public very large school with roughly 16,289 undergraduates. CUNY Hunter College is moderately selective, with an acceptance rate near 54%. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $116,361/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate54%
SAT range1100–1420
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads16,289
Yield (admits who enroll)19%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$13,905
4-year grad rate59%
Median earnings, 10yr out$63,163

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against CUNY Hunter College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what CUNY Hunter College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans7%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out57%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$51,569/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$59,204/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$75,803/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$55,182/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$102,321/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$73,857/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$72,919/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$55,759/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$59,864/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$53,509/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$116,361/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$104,791/yr
Public Health$63,884/yr
History
History$58,253/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$80,308/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Human Biology$83,420/yr
Biological and Physical Sciences$63,406/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$49,583/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$54,699/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$59,149/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$70,273/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$69,920/yr
Political Science and Government$62,040/yr
Sociology$57,965/yr
Anthropology$51,787/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$56,160/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$46,545/yr
Music$39,600/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity706
Typical room charge$6,956
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is CUNY Hunter College's acceptance rate?

CUNY Hunter College in New York, NY admits approximately 54% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for CUNY Hunter College?

Admitted students at CUNY Hunter College typically score between 1100–1420 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does CUNY Hunter College cost?

CUNY Hunter College's total cost of attendance is reported at $13,905 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does CUNY Hunter College require students to live on campus?

No -- CUNY Hunter College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing CUNY Hunter College against another school?

Open the comparison view