College Intel
← Back to colleges

Bard College

Private

Annandale-On-Hudson, NY

Visit website ↗

Bard College is a private small school in Annandale-On-Hudson, NY, enrolling about 2,414 undergraduates. It's moderately selective, admitting about 52% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Biological and Physical Sciences (Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies), where graduates report median earnings of $64,518/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate52%
SAT range1270–1450
ACT range28–32
Undergrads2,414
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$84,553
4-year grad rate70%
Median earnings, 10yr out$46,543

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Bard College's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Bard College weighs your application

From Bard College's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankImportant
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayVery important
RecommendationsVery important
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesImportant
Talent/abilityImportant
Character/personal qualitiesVery important
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workImportant
Work experienceImportant
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Bard College actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Bard College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans32%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out79%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other$50,402/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$38,298/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Biological and Physical Sciences$64,518/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$48,751/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$34,667/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,400
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Bard College look for in applicants?

Per Bard College's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA, character/personal qualities, application essay, recommendations as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Bard College's acceptance rate?

Bard College in Annandale-On-Hudson, NY admits approximately 52% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Bard College?

Admitted students at Bard College typically score between 1270–1450 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Bard College?

Admitted students at Bard College typically score between 28–32 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Bard College cost?

Bard College's total cost of attendance is reported at $84,553 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Bard College require students to live on campus?

No -- Bard College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Bard College against another school?

Open the comparison view