College Intel
← Back to colleges

Calvin University

Private#36 Regional Universities

Grand Rapids, MI

Visit website ↗

Located in Grand Rapids, MI, Calvin University is a private mid-sized school with roughly 3,193 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 71% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Science (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $95,410/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate71%
SAT range1110–13302025-26 CDS
ACT range26–312025-26 CDS
Undergrads3,193
Yield (admits who enroll)20%
Next deadlineAug 18, 2027 (RD)

Test scores for the Fall 2025 entering class come from Calvin University's own 2025-26 Common Data Set: 51% submitted SAT scores, 8% submitted ACT scores.

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Aug 18, 2027

Confirm on Calvin University's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$54,2222024-25
Tuition & fees$39,3502024-25
4-year grad rate76%
Median earnings, 10yr out$58,375

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against Calvin University's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Calvin University weighs your application

From Calvin University's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankConsidered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresImportant
Application essayImportant
RecommendationsImportant
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesImportant
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesImportant
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationImportant
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Calvin University actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Calvin University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans33%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out83%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$44,763/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$75,085/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$73,155/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$52,281/yr
Communication and Media Studies$43,138/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$95,410/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$47,157/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$45,579/yr
Engineering
Engineering, General$82,326/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$32,843/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$50,218/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$74,810/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$60,986/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$53,949/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$54,412/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$49,811/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$48,169/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,453
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Calvin University look for in applicants?

Per Calvin University's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Calvin University's acceptance rate?

Calvin University in Grand Rapids, MI admits approximately 71% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Calvin University?

Per Calvin University's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 1110–1330 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

What ACT score do I need for Calvin University?

Per Calvin University's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 26–31 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

How much does Calvin University cost?

Calvin University's total cost of attendance is reported at $54,222 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

When is the application deadline for Calvin University?

Calvin University's deadlines are Regular Decision Aug 18, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Calvin University require students to live on campus?

No -- Calvin University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Calvin University against another school?

Open the comparison view