College Intel
← Back to colleges

California State University-San Marcos

Public

San Marcos, CA

Visit website ↗

California State University-San Marcos, in San Marcos, CA, is a public large school, enrolling around 14,877 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 95% of applicants get in. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $120,196/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate95%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads14,877
Yield (admits who enroll)18%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,649
4-year grad rate54%
Median earnings, 10yr out$62,908

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against California State University-San Marcos's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what California State University-San Marcos weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans28%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out67%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$80,303/yr
Biotechnology$76,622/yr
Biology, General$70,789/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$65,479/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$86,318/yr
International Business$77,965/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$77,312/yr
Marketing$73,290/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$72,448/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$70,900/yr
Business/Commerce, General$68,984/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$59,842/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$97,827/yr
Computer Systems Analysis$93,047/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$51,445/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$54,985/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$53,568/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$120,196/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$71,068/yr
History
History$52,985/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$58,289/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$55,903/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$61,252/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$55,196/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$83,339/yr
Social Sciences, General$63,622/yr
Criminology$55,418/yr
Sociology$53,287/yr
Political Science and Government$50,857/yr
Anthropology$49,848/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$48,043/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,887
Typical room charge$9,400
Typical board charge$4,736

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is California State University-San Marcos's acceptance rate?

California State University-San Marcos in San Marcos, CA admits approximately 95% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does California State University-San Marcos cost?

California State University-San Marcos's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,649 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does California State University-San Marcos require students to live on campus?

No -- California State University-San Marcos doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing California State University-San Marcos against another school?

Open the comparison view