College Intel
← Back to colleges

California State University-Bakersfield

Public

Bakersfield, CA

Visit website ↗

California State University-Bakersfield is a public large school in Bakersfield, CA, enrolling about 8,577 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 94% of applicants. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $102,298/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate94%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads8,577
Yield (admits who enroll)9%
Next deadlineSingle filing period, closes Nov 30, 2026

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$19,5222024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,0902024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$20,6902024-25
4-year grad rate50%
Median earnings, 10yr out$59,009

Out-of-state students pay $12,600 more per year in tuition and fees (2.6x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

California State University-Bakersfield takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against California State University-Bakersfield's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what California State University-Bakersfield weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans23%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out55%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$58,885/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other$49,834/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$61,705/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$50,989/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$80,432/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$97,998/yr
Computer Engineering$93,797/yr
Engineering Science$88,948/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$52,420/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$50,850/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$102,298/yr
History
History$56,081/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$53,715/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$57,529/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$64,470/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy$82,315/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$53,553/yr
Physical Sciences
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$69,989/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,207/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$78,029/yr
Sociology$52,618/yr
Political Science and Government$51,882/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$43,534/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity500
Typical room charge$9,000
Typical board charge$4,600

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is California State University-Bakersfield's acceptance rate?

California State University-Bakersfield in Bakersfield, CA admits approximately 94% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does California State University-Bakersfield cost?

California State University-Bakersfield's total cost of attendance is reported at $19,522 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does California State University-Bakersfield offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- California State University-Bakersfield takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at California State University-Bakersfield?

For 2024-25, California State University-Bakersfield's published tuition and required fees were $20,690 for out-of-state students and $8,090 for in-state students -- $12,600 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does California State University-Bakersfield require students to live on campus?

No -- California State University-Bakersfield doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing California State University-Bakersfield against another school?

Open the comparison view