College Intel
← Back to colleges

Youngstown State University

Public

Youngstown, OH

Visit website ↗

Located in Youngstown, OH, Youngstown State University is a public mid-sized school with roughly 7,961 undergraduates. Youngstown State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 84%. Among reported majors, Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering shows the strongest outcomes -- $90,539/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate84%
SAT range1010–1230
ACT range19–25
Undergrads7,961
Yield (admits who enroll)27%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,708
4-year grad rate52%
Median earnings, 10yr out$41,544

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Youngstown State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Youngstown State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans38%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out39%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$52,447/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Human Resources Management and Services$69,341/yr
Accounting and Related Services$67,992/yr
Marketing$66,058/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$63,294/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,697/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$47,657/yr
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations$44,232/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$41,630/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$85,028/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$55,648/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$42,737/yr
Special Education and Teaching$39,497/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$38,535/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$90,539/yr
Chemical Engineering$89,150/yr
Industrial Engineering$86,340/yr
Civil Engineering$80,437/yr
Mechanical Engineering$80,158/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$86,361/yr
Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians$78,450/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$43,031/yr
English Language and Literature, General$42,408/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,576/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$76,896/yr
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$63,979/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$62,099/yr
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$51,687/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$52,574/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$46,399/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$60,965/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$58,297/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$42,690/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$49,361/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$57,643/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$36,539/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,139
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Youngstown State University's acceptance rate?

Youngstown State University in Youngstown, OH admits approximately 84% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Youngstown State University?

Admitted students at Youngstown State University typically score between 1010–1230 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Youngstown State University?

Admitted students at Youngstown State University typically score between 19–25 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Youngstown State University cost?

Youngstown State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,708 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Youngstown State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Youngstown State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Youngstown State University against another school?

Open the comparison view