College Intel
← Back to colleges

Vermont State University

Public

Randolph, VT

Visit website ↗

Vermont State University, in Randolph, VT, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 3,590 students. Vermont State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 82%. Among reported majors, Construction Management shows the strongest outcomes -- $88,301/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate82%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads3,590
Yield (admits who enroll)27%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,9882024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,9522024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$22,2962024-25
4-year grad rate48%
Median earnings, 10yr out$50,331

Out-of-state students pay $10,344 more per year in tuition and fees (1.9x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Vermont State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

New England Tuition Break

Residents of the other New England states get a reduced out-of-state rate in approved majors. Which majors qualify depends on your home state.

Where do you stand against Vermont State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Vermont State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans58%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out79%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$88,301/yr
Accounting and Related Services$61,162/yr
Business/Commerce, General$53,316/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,438/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$47,035/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians$51,409/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$64,373/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$42,859/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians$84,601/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,267/yr
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs$63,293/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$61,991/yr
Alternative and Complementary Medicine and Medical Systems$40,273/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$55,465/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$42,671/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$44,722/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$51,701/yr
Outdoor Education$35,579/yr
Physical Sciences
Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology$56,630/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$50,782/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$39,174/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$49,438/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$37,925/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity385
Typical room charge$7,530
Typical board charge$4,874

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Vermont State University's acceptance rate?

Vermont State University in Randolph, VT admits approximately 82% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Vermont State University cost?

Vermont State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,988 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Vermont State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Vermont State University takes part in the New England Tuition Break, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Vermont State University?

For 2024-25, Vermont State University's published tuition and required fees were $22,296 for out-of-state students and $11,952 for in-state students -- $10,344 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Vermont State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Vermont State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Vermont State University against another school?

Open the comparison view