College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Minnesota-Duluth

Public

Duluth, MN

Visit website ↗

Located in Duluth, MN, University of Minnesota-Duluth is a public mid-sized school with roughly 7,336 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 89% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Industrial Engineering shows the strongest outcomes -- $97,732/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate89%
SAT range1180–1350
ACT range23–28
Undergrads7,336
Yield (admits who enroll)26%
Next deadlineDec 1, 2026 (EA)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Early Action: Dec 1, 2026
  • Regular Decision: Jan 15, 2027

Confirm on University of Minnesota-Duluth's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$27,6802024-25
In-state tuition & fees$14,6102024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$20,1302024-25
4-year grad rate65%
Median earnings, 10yr out$62,616

Out-of-state students pay $5,520 more per year in tuition and fees (1.4x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against University of Minnesota-Duluth's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Minnesota-Duluth weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans44%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out75%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$65,275/yr
Biology, General$63,317/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$61,010/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$74,360/yr
Marketing$74,079/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$73,979/yr
Business/Commerce, General$70,334/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$69,767/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$60,023/yr
Journalism$42,478/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Graphic Communications$61,062/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$91,911/yr
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications$79,939/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$48,669/yr
Education, Other$46,964/yr
Engineering
Industrial Engineering$97,732/yr
Mechanical Engineering$88,965/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$88,305/yr
Chemical Engineering$85,667/yr
Civil Engineering$79,485/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$46,740/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$57,886/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Health and Medical Administrative Services$68,386/yr
Public Health$59,639/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$58,362/yr
History
History$43,766/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$75,633/yr
Statistics$71,279/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$56,728/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$63,269/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$40,452/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$56,812/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$66,529/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$63,893/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$51,891/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$54,226/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$69,792/yr
Criminology$59,754/yr
Geography and Cartography$58,569/yr
Political Science and Government$58,256/yr
Sociology$50,174/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$52,727/yr
Music$45,834/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$42,438/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,960
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Minnesota-Duluth's acceptance rate?

University of Minnesota-Duluth in Duluth, MN admits approximately 89% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Minnesota-Duluth?

Admitted students at University of Minnesota-Duluth typically score between 1180–1350 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of Minnesota-Duluth?

Admitted students at University of Minnesota-Duluth typically score between 23–28 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Minnesota-Duluth cost?

University of Minnesota-Duluth's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,680 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of Minnesota-Duluth?

For 2024-25, University of Minnesota-Duluth's published tuition and required fees were $20,130 for out-of-state students and $14,610 for in-state students -- $5,520 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for University of Minnesota-Duluth?

University of Minnesota-Duluth's deadlines are Early Action Dec 1, 2026; Regular Decision Jan 15, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does University of Minnesota-Duluth require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Minnesota-Duluth doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Minnesota-Duluth against another school?

Open the comparison view