College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Hawaii-West Oahu

Public

Kapolei, HI

Visit website ↗

Located in Kapolei, HI, University of Hawaii-West Oahu is a public small school with roughly 2,519 undergraduates. University of Hawaii-West Oahu is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 95%. Its highest-earning reported major is Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other (Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies), where graduates report median earnings of $69,931/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate95%
SAT range931–1103
ACT range15–21
Undergrads2,519
Yield (admits who enroll)25%
Next deadlineSingle filing period

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$18,4102024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,5842024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$20,5442024-25
4-year grad rate48%
Median earnings, 10yr out$52,075

Out-of-state students pay $12,960 more per year in tuition and fees (2.7x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of Hawaii-West Oahu takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against University of Hawaii-West Oahu's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Hawaii-West Oahu weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans21%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out59%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$56,227/yr
Education
Education, General$54,648/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$50,343/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$69,931/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Public Administration$53,891/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$41,536/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Hawaii-West Oahu's acceptance rate?

University of Hawaii-West Oahu in Kapolei, HI admits approximately 95% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Hawaii-West Oahu?

Admitted students at University of Hawaii-West Oahu typically score between 931–1103 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of Hawaii-West Oahu?

Admitted students at University of Hawaii-West Oahu typically score between 15–21 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Hawaii-West Oahu cost?

University of Hawaii-West Oahu's total cost of attendance is reported at $18,410 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Hawaii-West Oahu offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of Hawaii-West Oahu takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of Hawaii-West Oahu?

For 2024-25, University of Hawaii-West Oahu's published tuition and required fees were $20,544 for out-of-state students and $7,584 for in-state students -- $12,960 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of Hawaii-West Oahu require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Hawaii-West Oahu doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Hawaii-West Oahu against another school?

Open the comparison view