College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of California-Berkeley

Public

Berkeley, CA

Visit website ↗

UC Berkeley was founded in 1868 as the flagship of the University of California system. It comprises 184 academic departments and programs, reports a 19.4-to-1 student-to-faculty ratio, and counts 9 Nobel Prizes among its current faculty. The university traces its founding purpose to the state constitution's charge to "contribute even more than California's gold to the glory and happiness of advancing generations."

Admissions

Admit rate11%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads33,068
Yield (admits who enroll)46%
Next deadlineSingle filing period, closes Nov 30, 2026

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$45,6192024-25
In-state tuition & fees$18,2142026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$57,4842026-27
4-year grad rate93%
Median earnings, 10yr out$92,446

Out-of-state students pay $39,270 more per year in tuition and fees (3.2x the in-state rate).

Rate for students starting in 2026-27. The UC system holds each entering class's tuition steady for up to six years. The student health insurance fee, which can be waived, isn't included.

Tuition & fees are University of California-Berkeley's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against University of California-Berkeley's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of California-Berkeley weighs your application

From University of California-Berkeley's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayVery important
RecommendationsConsidered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesImportant
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesImportant
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyConsidered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workImportant
Work experienceImportant
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of California-Berkeley actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed

What applicants who posted their results listed

172 self-reported applicant profiles from public posts, 2024–25 and 2025–26 admissions cycles: 59 admitted, 113 rejected or waitlisted. Figures read admitted vs. rejected or waitlisted.

Median unweighted GPA4.00 vs 3.91
Listed a national-level award42% vs 23%

No SAT/ACT comparison: University of California-Berkeley doesn't consider test scores, so none of these applicants' scores were in front of it.

Most common activities

AdmittedRejected or waitlisted
Founded an organization
32%
17%
Research
31%
21%
Community service
29%
25%
Sports
27%
16%
Tutoring & teaching
25%
23%
Clubs & honor societies
25%
21%
Internship
22%
14%
Selective summer program
22%
9%

Most common awards among admits

Competition placement · 31%National Merit · 24%School award · 17%AP Scholar · 15%

Who posted

Public high school · 68%Private or boarding school · 25%First-generation · 16%International · 8%

The full breakdown, with what stood out: UC Berkeley Accepted vs. Rejected Applicants →

These are people who chose to post their results publicly, mostly on Reddit -- a group that skews toward high scores and STEM. They describe posters, not University of California-Berkeley's admitted class, and recruited athletes are left out. For official numbers, use the admissions figures above.

See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of California-Berkeley weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans17%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out80%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
Architecture$76,679/yr
Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Area Studies$70,366/yr
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$67,291/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$103,546/yr
Biology, General$79,163/yr
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$66,577/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$144,599/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$75,612/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$204,379/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$200,543/yr
Operations Research$138,883/yr
Chemical Engineering$121,027/yr
Mechanical Engineering$119,371/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$110,597/yr
Civil Engineering$108,548/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$69,373/yr
English Language and Literature, General$60,187/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$76,724/yr
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$75,715/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Public Health$76,572/yr
History
History$64,755/yr
Legal Professions and Studies
Non-Professional Legal Studies$70,636/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Statistics$133,986/yr
Applied Mathematics$118,414/yr
Mathematics$80,654/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Cognitive Science$120,193/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$87,791/yr
Nutrition Sciences$79,391/yr
International/Globalization Studies$66,522/yr
Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution$65,269/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$78,624/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$63,326/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$96,043/yr
Astronomy and Astrophysics$90,943/yr
Chemistry$82,386/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$64,904/yr
Psychology, General$62,835/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$67,393/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$135,050/yr
Social Sciences, Other$101,138/yr
Urban Studies/Affairs$76,125/yr
Political Science and Government$75,128/yr
Sociology$71,363/yr
Anthropology$64,359/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$70,963/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$55,555/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$51,699/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity9,765
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of California-Berkeley look for in applicants?

Per University of California-Berkeley's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA, application essay as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of California-Berkeley's acceptance rate?

University of California-Berkeley in Berkeley, CA admits approximately 11% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of California-Berkeley cost?

University of California-Berkeley's total cost of attendance is reported at $45,619 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of California-Berkeley?

For 2026-27, University of California-Berkeley's tuition and required fees are $57,484 for out-of-state students and $18,214 for in-state students -- $39,270 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of California-Berkeley require students to live on campus?

No -- University of California-Berkeley doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of California-Berkeley against another school?

Open the comparison view