College Intel
← Back to colleges

Southern University and A & M College

Public

Baton Rouge, LA

Visit website ↗

Southern University and A & M College is a public mid-sized school in Baton Rouge, LA, enrolling about 5,519 undergraduates. Southern University and A & M College is moderately selective, with an acceptance rate near 35%. Engineering graduates, especially in Mechanical Engineering, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $92,969/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate35%
SAT range790–1020
ACT range15–19
Undergrads5,519
Yield (admits who enroll)29%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$26,3412024-25
In-state tuition & fees$9,9222024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$17,2722024-25
4-year grad rate28%
Median earnings, 10yr out$43,371

Out-of-state students pay $7,350 more per year in tuition and fees (1.7x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Southern University and A & M College takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Southern University and A & M College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Southern University and A & M College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans72%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out53%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$44,880/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Marketing$56,097/yr
Accounting and Related Services$53,159/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$48,716/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$48,264/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$58,951/yr
Engineering
Mechanical Engineering$92,969/yr
Civil Engineering$68,016/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$48,596/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$86,838/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$51,611/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$41,311/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$49,609/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$50,616/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$41,901/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$52,217/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$43,844/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity4,000
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Southern University and A & M College's acceptance rate?

Southern University and A & M College in Baton Rouge, LA admits approximately 35% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Southern University and A & M College?

Admitted students at Southern University and A & M College typically score between 790–1020 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Southern University and A & M College?

Admitted students at Southern University and A & M College typically score between 15–19 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Southern University and A & M College cost?

Southern University and A & M College's total cost of attendance is reported at $26,341 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Southern University and A & M College offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Southern University and A & M College takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Southern University and A & M College?

For 2024-25, Southern University and A & M College's published tuition and required fees were $17,272 for out-of-state students and $9,922 for in-state students -- $7,350 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Southern University and A & M College require students to live on campus?

No -- Southern University and A & M College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Southern University and A & M College against another school?

Open the comparison view