College Intel
← Back to colleges

Southern Connecticut State University

Public

New Haven, CT

Visit website ↗

Located in New Haven, CT, Southern Connecticut State University is a public mid-sized school with roughly 6,295 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 91% of applicants. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $98,870/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate91%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads6,295
Yield (admits who enroll)16%
Next deadlineAug 6, 2027 (RD)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Aug 6, 2027

Confirm on Southern Connecticut State University's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$29,6732024-25
In-state tuition & fees$13,4382024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$27,3782024-25
4-year grad rate49%
Median earnings, 10yr out$55,043

Out-of-state students pay $13,940 more per year in tuition and fees (2.0x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Southern Connecticut State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

New England Tuition Break

Residents of the other New England states get a reduced out-of-state rate in approved majors. Which majors qualify depends on your home state.

Where do you stand against Southern Connecticut State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Southern Connecticut State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans52%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out61%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$67,791/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$63,310/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$56,694/yr
Journalism$50,760/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$87,705/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$60,780/yr
Special Education and Teaching$60,365/yr
Education, General$52,659/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$50,725/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$47,944/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$98,870/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$74,538/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$61,336/yr
Public Health$53,997/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$53,411/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$53,522/yr
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$50,379/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$72,838/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$50,642/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$59,438/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$52,249/yr
Social Sciences, General$47,042/yr
Political Science and Government$45,270/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$36,387/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,314
Typical room charge$7,660
Typical board charge$6,416

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Southern Connecticut State University's acceptance rate?

Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, CT admits approximately 91% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Southern Connecticut State University cost?

Southern Connecticut State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $29,673 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Southern Connecticut State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Southern Connecticut State University takes part in the New England Tuition Break, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Southern Connecticut State University?

For 2024-25, Southern Connecticut State University's published tuition and required fees were $27,378 for out-of-state students and $13,438 for in-state students -- $13,940 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for Southern Connecticut State University?

Southern Connecticut State University's deadlines are Regular Decision Aug 6, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Southern Connecticut State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Southern Connecticut State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Southern Connecticut State University against another school?

Open the comparison view