College Intel
← Back to colleges

Southeastern Louisiana University

Public

Hammond, LA

Visit website ↗

Southeastern Louisiana University, in Hammond, LA, is a public large school, enrolling around 9,514 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 99% of applicants. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services graduates, especially in Computer and Information Sciences, General, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $92,615/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate99%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range18–24
Undergrads9,514
Yield (admits who enroll)49%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,604
4-year grad rate45%
Median earnings, 10yr out$46,482

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Southeastern Louisiana University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Southeastern Louisiana University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans32%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out67%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$49,951/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$62,917/yr
Accounting and Related Services$59,067/yr
Marketing$53,477/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,621/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$46,051/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$92,615/yr
Computer Science$72,410/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$47,405/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$47,307/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians$83,039/yr
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$76,401/yr
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$74,785/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$39,235/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$38,514/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,367/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$46,061/yr
Public Health$45,401/yr
History
History$45,161/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$45,393/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$42,692/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$48,719/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$37,998/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$43,291/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$40,307/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,648
Typical room charge$5,200
Typical board charge$3,990

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Southeastern Louisiana University's acceptance rate?

Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond, LA admits approximately 99% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for Southeastern Louisiana University?

Admitted students at Southeastern Louisiana University typically score between 18–24 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Southeastern Louisiana University cost?

Southeastern Louisiana University's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,604 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Southeastern Louisiana University require students to live on campus?

No -- Southeastern Louisiana University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Southeastern Louisiana University against another school?

Open the comparison view