College Intel
← Back to colleges

Shawnee State University

Public

Portsmouth, OH

Visit website ↗

Located in Portsmouth, OH, Shawnee State University is a public small school with roughly 2,247 undergraduates. Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields graduates, especially in Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $84,015/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 39% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,247
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,9742024-25
In-state tuition & fees$10,6262024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$17,3582024-25
4-year grad rate45%
Median earnings, 10yr out$39,596

Out-of-state students pay $6,732 more per year in tuition and fees (1.6x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Shawnee State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Midwest Student Exchange Program

Residents of Indiana, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio and Wisconsin pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition in selected programs. The school decides who qualifies.

Where do you stand against Shawnee State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Shawnee State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans39%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out37%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$56,034/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$48,031/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$46,822/yr
Education
Special Education and Teaching$44,143/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$41,068/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other$84,015/yr
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$81,446/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$78,624/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$55,703/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$50,706/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$41,424/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$51,304/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$40,791/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$43,723/yr
Sociology$43,602/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$39,821/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$34,215/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity878
Typical room charge$6,873
Typical board charge$4,450

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Shawnee State University cost?

Shawnee State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,974 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Shawnee State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Shawnee State University takes part in the Midwest Student Exchange Program, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Shawnee State University?

For 2024-25, Shawnee State University's published tuition and required fees were $17,358 for out-of-state students and $10,626 for in-state students -- $6,732 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Shawnee State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Shawnee State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Shawnee State University against another school?

Open the comparison view