College Intel
← Back to colleges

Pittsburg State University

Public

Pittsburg, KS

Visit website ↗

Pittsburg State University is a public mid-sized school in Pittsburg, KS, enrolling about 4,210 undergraduates. Pittsburg State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 89%. Its highest-earning reported major is Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other (Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields), where graduates report median earnings of $111,920/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate89%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range17–24
Undergrads4,210
Yield (admits who enroll)37%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$22,099
4-year grad rate57%
Median earnings, 10yr out$50,579

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Pittsburg State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Pittsburg State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans41%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out60%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$56,733/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$90,321/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$76,033/yr
Accounting and Related Services$66,851/yr
Business/Commerce, General$64,565/yr
Marketing$60,219/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$45,940/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Graphic Communications$39,946/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Systems Analysis$71,199/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$48,757/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,465/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other$111,920/yr
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$81,562/yr
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$74,878/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$49,023/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$34,318/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$70,657/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$46,931/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$51,640/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$53,878/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,300
Typical room charge$5,170
Typical board charge$3,256

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Pittsburg State University's acceptance rate?

Pittsburg State University in Pittsburg, KS admits approximately 89% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for Pittsburg State University?

Admitted students at Pittsburg State University typically score between 17–24 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Pittsburg State University cost?

Pittsburg State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $22,099 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Pittsburg State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Pittsburg State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Pittsburg State University against another school?

Open the comparison view