College Intel
← Back to colleges

Washburn University

Public

Topeka, KS

Visit website ↗

Located in Topeka, KS, Washburn University is a public mid-sized school with roughly 4,562 undergraduates. Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields graduates, especially in Engineering-Related Fields, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $80,436/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus. About 31% of students borrow federal loans here.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads4,562
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,512
4-year grad rate53%
Median earnings, 10yr out$49,774

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Washburn University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Washburn University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans31%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out50%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$57,551/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$76,175/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$68,154/yr
Accounting and Related Services$66,900/yr
Marketing$65,379/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$46,497/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$78,778/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$47,948/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,351/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering-Related Fields$80,436/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$32,760/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$79,109/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$75,787/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$66,325/yr
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$48,327/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$53,587/yr
Security Science and Technology$44,534/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$57,079/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,251/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$50,122/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$29,659/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity970
Typical room charge$5,766
Typical board charge$4,274

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Washburn University cost?

Washburn University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,512 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Washburn University require students to live on campus?

No -- Washburn University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Washburn University against another school?

Open the comparison view