College Intel
← Back to colleges

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Public

Newark, NJ

Visit website ↗

New Jersey Institute of Technology, in Newark, NJ, is a public large school, enrolling around 9,019 students. New Jersey Institute of Technology is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 65%. Its highest-earning reported major is Information Science/Studies (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $103,918/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate65%
SAT range1210–1460
ACT range27–34
Undergrads9,019
Yield (admits who enroll)18%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$32,859
4-year grad rate73%
Median earnings, 10yr out$84,276

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against New Jersey Institute of Technology's numbers?

Check your chances here

How New Jersey Institute of Technology weighs your application

From New Jersey Institute of Technology's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankImportant
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayConsidered
RecommendationsConsidered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyConsidered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how New Jersey Institute of Technology actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what New Jersey Institute of Technology weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans31%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out71%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
Architectural Sciences and Technology$69,456/yr
Architecture$66,840/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$65,807/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$75,805/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Information Science/Studies$103,918/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$97,926/yr
Engineering
Industrial Engineering$101,547/yr
Computer Engineering$99,880/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$97,718/yr
Chemical Engineering$97,371/yr
Mechanical Engineering$89,827/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$88,396/yr
Civil Engineering$87,389/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$86,360/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$94,840/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$66,488/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,583
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does New Jersey Institute of Technology look for in applicants?

Per New Jersey Institute of Technology's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA, rigor of secondary school record as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is New Jersey Institute of Technology's acceptance rate?

New Jersey Institute of Technology in Newark, NJ admits approximately 65% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for New Jersey Institute of Technology?

Admitted students at New Jersey Institute of Technology typically score between 1210–1460 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for New Jersey Institute of Technology?

Admitted students at New Jersey Institute of Technology typically score between 27–34 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does New Jersey Institute of Technology cost?

New Jersey Institute of Technology's total cost of attendance is reported at $32,859 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does New Jersey Institute of Technology require students to live on campus?

No -- New Jersey Institute of Technology doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing New Jersey Institute of Technology against another school?

Open the comparison view