College Intel
← Back to colleges

Kean University

Public

Union, NJ

Visit website ↗

Kean University is a public large school in Union, NJ, enrolling about 11,433 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 76% of applicants get in. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $96,821/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate76%
SAT range930–1150
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads11,433
Yield (admits who enroll)23%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$26,949
4-year grad rate45%
Median earnings, 10yr out$57,237

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Kean University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Kean University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans41%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out52%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$61,291/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$72,446/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$65,415/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$65,332/yr
International Business$64,878/yr
Marketing$61,602/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$54,277/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$91,546/yr
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications$72,483/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$63,156/yr
Special Education and Teaching$61,158/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$58,885/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$54,749/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$50,854/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$96,821/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$59,531/yr
History
History$60,236/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$58,644/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$59,082/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$54,232/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$51,052/yr
Psychology, Other$47,179/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Public Administration$58,100/yr
Science Technologies/Technicians
Science Technologies/Technicians, Other$72,277/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$66,368/yr
Sociology$51,122/yr
Political Science and Government$40,805/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$56,666/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$40,213/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$32,107/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,887
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Kean University's acceptance rate?

Kean University in Union, NJ admits approximately 76% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Kean University?

Admitted students at Kean University typically score between 930–1150 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Kean University cost?

Kean University's total cost of attendance is reported at $26,949 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Kean University require students to live on campus?

No -- Kean University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Kean University against another school?

Open the comparison view