College Intel
← Back to colleges

John Brown University

Private

Siloam Springs, AR

Visit website ↗

John Brown University is a private small school in Siloam Springs, AR, enrolling about 1,471 undergraduates. John Brown University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 76%. Among reported majors, Engineering, General shows the strongest outcomes -- $90,783/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate76%
SAT range1070–1340
ACT range21–28
Undergrads1,471
Yield (admits who enroll)36%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$44,710
4-year grad rate69%
Median earnings, 10yr out$53,907

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against John Brown University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what John Brown University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans33%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out75%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$82,703/yr
Business/Commerce, General$78,800/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$70,720/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$48,188/yr
Engineering
Engineering, General$90,783/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$39,575/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$64,963/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$47,076/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
International/Globalization Studies$45,322/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$40,222/yr
Theology and Religious Vocations
Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries$35,601/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$47,248/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$36,796/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,143
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is John Brown University's acceptance rate?

John Brown University in Siloam Springs, AR admits approximately 76% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for John Brown University?

Admitted students at John Brown University typically score between 1070–1340 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for John Brown University?

Admitted students at John Brown University typically score between 21–28 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does John Brown University cost?

John Brown University's total cost of attendance is reported at $44,710 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does John Brown University require students to live on campus?

No -- John Brown University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing John Brown University against another school?

Open the comparison view