College Intel
← Back to colleges

Arkansas State University

Public

Jonesboro, AR

Visit website ↗

Arkansas State University, in Jonesboro, AR, is a public large school, enrolling around 9,110 students. Arkansas State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 82%. Its highest-earning reported major is Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $98,691/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate82%
SAT range970–1190
ACT range18–24
Undergrads9,110
Yield (admits who enroll)32%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,082
4-year grad rate55%
Median earnings, 10yr out$42,617

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Arkansas State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Arkansas State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans42%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out58%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Plant Sciences$61,397/yr
Agricultural Business and Management$58,128/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$54,441/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$68,408/yr
Accounting and Related Services$67,944/yr
Marketing$56,685/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$47,023/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$54,196/yr
Communication and Media Studies$44,327/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$40,961/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$79,309/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$44,780/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$41,947/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$98,691/yr
Mechanical Engineering$91,665/yr
Civil Engineering$83,270/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$38,366/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$88,611/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$63,340/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$60,039/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$57,419/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$46,015/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Homeland Security$58,242/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$43,733/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$41,340/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$55,833/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$44,872/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$47,449/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$49,078/yr
Criminology$46,293/yr
Sociology$45,889/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$43,758/yr
Design and Applied Arts$39,897/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,200
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Arkansas State University's acceptance rate?

Arkansas State University in Jonesboro, AR admits approximately 82% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Arkansas State University?

Admitted students at Arkansas State University typically score between 970–1190 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Arkansas State University?

Admitted students at Arkansas State University typically score between 18–24 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Arkansas State University cost?

Arkansas State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,082 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Arkansas State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Arkansas State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Arkansas State University against another school?

Open the comparison view