College Intel
← Back to colleges

Iona University

Private

New Rochelle, NY

Visit website ↗

Iona University, in New Rochelle, NY, is a private small school, enrolling around 2,951 students. Iona University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 87%. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services graduates, especially in Accounting and Related Services, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $89,359/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate87%
SAT range1110–1300
ACT range24–29
Undergrads2,951
Yield (admits who enroll)13%
Next deadlineDec 1, 2026 (ED1)

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$60,247
4-year grad rate57%
Median earnings, 10yr out$73,595

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Iona University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Iona University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans44%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out72%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$89,359/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$84,128/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$70,790/yr
Marketing$69,542/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$58,650/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$57,669/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$77,352/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$58,688/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$60,525/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$66,417/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$59,151/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,389
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Iona University's acceptance rate?

Iona University in New Rochelle, NY admits approximately 87% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Iona University?

Admitted students at Iona University typically score between 1110–1300 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Iona University?

Admitted students at Iona University typically score between 24–29 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Iona University cost?

Iona University's total cost of attendance is reported at $60,247 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

When is the application deadline for Iona University?

Iona University's earliest deadline is Dec 1, 2026 (ED1), per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Iona University require students to live on campus?

No -- Iona University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Iona University against another school?

Open the comparison view