College Intel
← Back to colleges

Hollins University

Private

Roanoke, VA

Visit website ↗

Located in Roanoke, VA, Hollins University is a private very small school with roughly 665 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 68% of applicants get in. Psychology graduates, especially in Psychology, General, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $45,633/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate68%
SAT range1150–1340
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads665
Yield (admits who enroll)9%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$58,698
4-year grad rate67%
Median earnings, 10yr out$40,075

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Hollins University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Hollins University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans56%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out58%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$38,172/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$45,633/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$27,014/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity687
Typical room charge$9,080
Typical board charge$5,880

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Hollins University's acceptance rate?

Hollins University in Roanoke, VA admits approximately 68% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Hollins University?

Admitted students at Hollins University typically score between 1150–1340 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Hollins University cost?

Hollins University's total cost of attendance is reported at $58,698 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Hollins University require students to live on campus?

No -- Hollins University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Hollins University against another school?

Open the comparison view