College Intel
← Back to colleges

Bluefield University

Private

Bluefield, VA

Visit website ↗

Bluefield University is a private very small school in Bluefield, VA, enrolling about 614 undergraduates. It's moderately selective, admitting about 59% of applicants. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $91,278/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate59%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads614
Yield (admits who enroll)24%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$42,539
4-year grad rate22%
Median earnings, 10yr out$48,896

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Bluefield University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Bluefield University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans71%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out50%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$63,715/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$91,278/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$56,811/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$41,595/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Human Services, General$43,789/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity442
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Bluefield University's acceptance rate?

Bluefield University in Bluefield, VA admits approximately 59% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Bluefield University cost?

Bluefield University's total cost of attendance is reported at $42,539 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Bluefield University require students to live on campus?

No -- Bluefield University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Bluefield University against another school?

Open the comparison view