College Intel
← Back to colleges

Frostburg State University

Public

Frostburg, MD

Visit website ↗

Frostburg State University is a public small school in Frostburg, MD, enrolling about 2,909 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 89% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Engineering, General (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $99,671/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate89%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,909
Yield (admits who enroll)14%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$27,056
4-year grad rate51%
Median earnings, 10yr out$55,493

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Frostburg State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Frostburg State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans38%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out58%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$55,718/yr
Zoology/Animal Biology$43,434/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$67,484/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$61,002/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$48,762/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$85,521/yr
Computer Science$83,990/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$70,144/yr
Information Science/Studies$69,680/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$51,478/yr
Engineering
Engineering, General$99,671/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$46,612/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$86,331/yr
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs$62,767/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$56,668/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$53,934/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$52,488/yr
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$46,862/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$50,210/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$50,376/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$57,770/yr
Sociology$54,197/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$46,546/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$45,220/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$29,679/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,250
Typical room charge$5,626
Typical board charge$5,878

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Frostburg State University's acceptance rate?

Frostburg State University in Frostburg, MD admits approximately 89% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Frostburg State University cost?

Frostburg State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,056 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Frostburg State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Frostburg State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Frostburg State University against another school?

Open the comparison view