College Intel
← Back to colleges

Chowan University

Private

Murfreesboro, NC

Visit website ↗

Located in Murfreesboro, NC, Chowan University is a private very small school with roughly 603 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 69% of applicants. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services graduates, especially in Business Administration, Management and Operations, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $54,889/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate69%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads603
Yield (admits who enroll)11%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$39,027
4-year grad rate29%
Median earnings, 10yr out$38,412

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Chowan University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Chowan University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans57%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out31%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$54,889/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$44,858/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$39,224/yr
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$36,682/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$44,711/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$33,143/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$44,793/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,518
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Chowan University's acceptance rate?

Chowan University in Murfreesboro, NC admits approximately 69% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Chowan University cost?

Chowan University's total cost of attendance is reported at $39,027 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Chowan University require students to live on campus?

No -- Chowan University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Chowan University against another school?

Open the comparison view