College Intel
← Back to colleges

Centenary University

Private

Hackettstown, NJ

Visit website ↗

Located in Hackettstown, NJ, Centenary University is a private very small school with roughly 910 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 83% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Business Administration, Management and Operations shows the strongest outcomes -- $72,527/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate83%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads910
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$52,362
4-year grad rate56%
Median earnings, 10yr out$53,726

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Centenary University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Centenary University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans63%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out66%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agricultural and Domestic Animal Services$40,047/yr
Agricultural Production Operations$34,057/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$63,381/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$72,527/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$45,098/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$61,358/yr
Special Education and Teaching$45,622/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$67,181/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$42,424/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$62,373/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$46,031/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$50,746/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity765
Typical room charge$8,270
Typical board charge$4,500

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Centenary University's acceptance rate?

Centenary University in Hackettstown, NJ admits approximately 83% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Centenary University cost?

Centenary University's total cost of attendance is reported at $52,362 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Centenary University require students to live on campus?

No -- Centenary University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Centenary University against another school?

Open the comparison view