College Intel
← Back to colleges

California State University-Dominguez Hills

Public

Carson, CA

Visit website ↗

Located in Carson, CA, California State University-Dominguez Hills is a public large school with roughly 12,538 undergraduates. California State University-Dominguez Hills is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 93%. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $118,588/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate93%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads12,538
Yield (admits who enroll)12%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,191
4-year grad rate45%
Median earnings, 10yr out$57,162

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against California State University-Dominguez Hills's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what California State University-Dominguez Hills weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans20%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out51%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$54,405/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$75,412/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$64,677/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$63,662/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$57,478/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$36,326/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$74,788/yr
Computer Science$59,603/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$44,654/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other$57,245/yr
English Language and Literature, General$55,081/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$118,588/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$109,642/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$59,094/yr
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$51,549/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$57,727/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$62,164/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$68,900/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$51,185/yr
Psychology
Psychology, Other$52,965/yr
Psychology, General$52,742/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Public Administration$68,008/yr
Community Organization and Advocacy$50,686/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$59,558/yr
Sociology$55,100/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$48,430/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,203
Typical room charge$9,920
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is California State University-Dominguez Hills's acceptance rate?

California State University-Dominguez Hills in Carson, CA admits approximately 93% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does California State University-Dominguez Hills cost?

California State University-Dominguez Hills's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,191 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does California State University-Dominguez Hills require students to live on campus?

No -- California State University-Dominguez Hills doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing California State University-Dominguez Hills against another school?

Open the comparison view