College Intel
← Back to colleges

West Liberty University

Public

West Liberty, WV

Visit website ↗

West Liberty University is a public small school in West Liberty, WV, enrolling about 1,511 undergraduates. West Liberty University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 97%. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $82,117/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate97%
SAT range890–1123
ACT range18–24
Undergrads1,511
Yield (admits who enroll)34%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,8092024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,8932024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$17,4422024-25
4-year grad rate60%
Median earnings, 10yr out$43,296

Out-of-state students pay $8,549 more per year in tuition and fees (2.0x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

West Liberty University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against West Liberty University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what West Liberty University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans44%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out50%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$56,691/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$50,824/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$44,539/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$82,117/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$61,801/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$47,212/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$45,353/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$50,061/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$53,707/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$46,799/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$43,532/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,291
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is West Liberty University's acceptance rate?

West Liberty University in West Liberty, WV admits approximately 97% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for West Liberty University?

Admitted students at West Liberty University typically score between 890–1123 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for West Liberty University?

Admitted students at West Liberty University typically score between 18–24 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does West Liberty University cost?

West Liberty University's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,809 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does West Liberty University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- West Liberty University takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at West Liberty University?

For 2024-25, West Liberty University's published tuition and required fees were $17,442 for out-of-state students and $8,893 for in-state students -- $8,549 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does West Liberty University require students to live on campus?

No -- West Liberty University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing West Liberty University against another school?

Open the comparison view