College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Washington-Seattle Campus

Public

Seattle, WA

Visit website ↗

The University of Washington was established in 1861. It operates as a three-campus system, in Seattle, Bothell, and Tacoma, and its academic health system, UW Medicine, includes a medical school with a large clinical practice. According to the university, it receives more federal research funding than any other U.S. public university.

Admissions

Admit rate39%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads31,942
Yield (admits who enroll)30%
Next deadlineSingle filing period

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$32,446
4-year grad rate84%
Median earnings, 10yr out$78,466

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Washington-Seattle Campus's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of Washington-Seattle Campus weighs your application

From University of Washington-Seattle Campus's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayVery important
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesImportant
Talent/abilityImportant
Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
First generationImportant
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyConsidered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workImportant
Work experienceImportant
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of Washington-Seattle Campus actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Washington-Seattle Campus weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans15%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out79%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
Architectural Sciences and Technology$103,414/yr
City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning$73,413/yr
Architecture$69,515/yr
Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$57,534/yr
Area Studies$56,926/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$73,944/yr
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$67,234/yr
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$60,004/yr
Biology, General$59,443/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$58,818/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$113,308/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$97,452/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$95,193/yr
Accounting and Related Services$88,393/yr
Marketing$88,114/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$78,771/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$64,153/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$175,616/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$114,798/yr
Computer Software and Media Applications$71,462/yr
Education
Education, General$65,217/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$59,736/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$169,570/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$116,010/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$111,349/yr
Industrial Engineering$109,575/yr
Chemical Engineering$109,551/yr
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering$105,016/yr
Mechanical Engineering$102,078/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$100,930/yr
Materials Engineering$95,314/yr
Civil Engineering$92,010/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$57,649/yr
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$47,124/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$58,705/yr
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$55,540/yr
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$51,826/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$150,811/yr
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$98,632/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$86,417/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$80,947/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$73,484/yr
Public Health$63,666/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$61,062/yr
History
History$61,059/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$63,311/yr
Legal Professions and Studies
Non-Professional Legal Studies$71,042/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$46,844/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$100,127/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Human Biology$60,949/yr
International/Globalization Studies$49,475/yr
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$48,753/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$58,229/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$61,595/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$75,867/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$66,845/yr
Chemistry$64,676/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$57,718/yr
Psychology, General$54,016/yr
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology$52,771/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$59,256/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$87,239/yr
Social Sciences, General$75,301/yr
Political Science and Government$72,487/yr
Geography and Cartography$64,950/yr
Urban Studies/Affairs$63,174/yr
Sociology$60,292/yr
Social Sciences, Other$56,628/yr
Anthropology$53,212/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$89,193/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$53,805/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity10,310
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of Washington-Seattle Campus look for in applicants?

Per University of Washington-Seattle Campus's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates application essay, rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of Washington-Seattle Campus's acceptance rate?

University of Washington-Seattle Campus in Seattle, WA admits approximately 39% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of Washington-Seattle Campus cost?

University of Washington-Seattle Campus's total cost of attendance is reported at $32,446 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Washington-Seattle Campus require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Washington-Seattle Campus doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Washington-Seattle Campus against another school?

Open the comparison view