College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of North Texas

Public

Denton, TX

Visit website ↗

University of North Texas is a public very large school in Denton, TX, enrolling about 34,341 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 72% of applicants. Engineering graduates, especially in Computer Engineering, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $109,151/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate72%
SAT range980–1230
ACT range19–27
Undergrads34,341
Yield (admits who enroll)26%
Next deadlineJul 31, 2027 (RD)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Jul 31, 2027

Confirm on University of North Texas's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$26,2432024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,3092024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$21,1492024-25
4-year grad rate60%
Median earnings, 10yr out$57,010

Out-of-state students pay $9,840 more per year in tuition and fees (1.9x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of North Texas takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against University of North Texas's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of North Texas weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans36%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out55%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
Interior Architecture$64,716/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$60,655/yr
Biology, General$56,561/yr
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$51,368/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$91,514/yr
Accounting and Related Services$79,124/yr
Business/Managerial Economics$78,740/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$78,629/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$77,061/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$75,657/yr
Insurance$75,438/yr
Business/Commerce, General$71,695/yr
Real Estate$71,473/yr
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$69,210/yr
Marketing$66,673/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$60,456/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$57,255/yr
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations$55,878/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$57,461/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$40,972/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$104,024/yr
Information Science/Studies$69,097/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$109,151/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$95,294/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$88,484/yr
Mechanical Engineering$87,257/yr
Materials Engineering$78,250/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$92,524/yr
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$80,138/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$62,703/yr
English Language and Literature, General$52,576/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$48,172/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$55,259/yr
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$37,441/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$57,888/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$45,354/yr
History
History$55,906/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Homeland Security$63,622/yr
Criminal Justice and Corrections$53,453/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$55,562/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$62,465/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$58,004/yr
International/Globalization Studies$50,139/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$54,621/yr
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$54,578/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$61,473/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$46,917/yr
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology$46,468/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$50,579/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$66,040/yr
Political Science and Government$57,852/yr
Social Sciences, General$56,026/yr
Geography and Cartography$52,712/yr
Sociology$49,257/yr
Anthropology$45,664/yr
Transportation and Materials Moving
Air Transportation$78,166/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$57,753/yr
Music$55,705/yr
Dance$49,063/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$47,639/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$42,362/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity6,419
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of North Texas's acceptance rate?

University of North Texas in Denton, TX admits approximately 72% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of North Texas?

Admitted students at University of North Texas typically score between 980–1230 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of North Texas?

Admitted students at University of North Texas typically score between 19–27 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of North Texas cost?

University of North Texas's total cost of attendance is reported at $26,243 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of North Texas offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of North Texas takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of North Texas?

For 2024-25, University of North Texas's published tuition and required fees were $21,149 for out-of-state students and $11,309 for in-state students -- $9,840 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for University of North Texas?

University of North Texas's deadlines are Regular Decision Jul 31, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does University of North Texas require students to live on campus?

No -- University of North Texas doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of North Texas against another school?

Open the comparison view