College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Detroit Mercy

Private

Detroit, MI

Visit website ↗

University of Detroit Mercy is a private small school in Detroit, MI, enrolling about 2,438 undergraduates. University of Detroit Mercy is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 75%. Its highest-earning reported major is Mechanical Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $104,683/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate75%
SAT range1030–1260
ACT range22–28
Undergrads2,438
Yield (admits who enroll)11%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$42,211
4-year grad rate68%
Median earnings, 10yr out$71,030

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Detroit Mercy's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Detroit Mercy weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans26%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out69%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
Architecture$62,939/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$91,888/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$89,540/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$86,600/yr
Engineering
Mechanical Engineering$104,683/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$81,602/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$63,364/yr
Public Health$55,002/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$50,535/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity965
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Detroit Mercy's acceptance rate?

University of Detroit Mercy in Detroit, MI admits approximately 75% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Detroit Mercy?

Admitted students at University of Detroit Mercy typically score between 1030–1260 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of Detroit Mercy?

Admitted students at University of Detroit Mercy typically score between 22–28 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Detroit Mercy cost?

University of Detroit Mercy's total cost of attendance is reported at $42,211 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Detroit Mercy require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Detroit Mercy doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Detroit Mercy against another school?

Open the comparison view