College Intel
← Back to colleges

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Public

Weatherford, OK

Visit website ↗

Southwestern Oklahoma State University, in Weatherford, OK, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 3,514 students. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $89,549/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus. About 31% of students borrow federal loans here.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads3,514
Yield (admits who enroll)38%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,3342024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,4692024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$8,4992024-25
4-year grad rate37%
Median earnings, 10yr out$45,744

Out-of-state students pay $30 more per year in tuition and fees (1.0x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Southwestern Oklahoma State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Southwestern Oklahoma State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Southwestern Oklahoma State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans31%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out58%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,657/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$47,607/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$42,538/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$64,751/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$89,549/yr
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$53,668/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$50,716/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$50,561/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$50,937/yr
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$45,982/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$46,983/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,363
Typical room charge$3,100
Typical board charge$3,830

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Southwestern Oklahoma State University cost?

Southwestern Oklahoma State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,334 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Southwestern Oklahoma State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Southwestern Oklahoma State University takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Southwestern Oklahoma State University?

For 2024-25, Southwestern Oklahoma State University's published tuition and required fees were $8,499 for out-of-state students and $8,469 for in-state students -- $30 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Southwestern Oklahoma State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Southwestern Oklahoma State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Southwestern Oklahoma State University against another school?

Open the comparison view