College Intel
← Back to colleges

Shaw University

Private

Raleigh, NC

Visit website ↗

Located in Raleigh, NC, Shaw University is a private very small school with roughly 875 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 80% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Business Administration, Management and Operations shows the strongest outcomes -- $47,401/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate80%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads875
Yield (admits who enroll)13%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$30,861
4-year grad rate21%
Median earnings, 10yr out$34,409

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Shaw University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Shaw University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans71%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out17%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$47,401/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$28,545/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$43,299/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$44,010/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$46,981/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity773
Typical room charge$3,842
Typical board charge$4,672

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Shaw University's acceptance rate?

Shaw University in Raleigh, NC admits approximately 80% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Shaw University cost?

Shaw University's total cost of attendance is reported at $30,861 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Shaw University require students to live on campus?

No -- Shaw University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Shaw University against another school?

Open the comparison view