College Intel
← Back to colleges

Savannah State University

Public

Savannah, GA

Visit website ↗

Savannah State University, in Savannah, GA, is a public small school, enrolling around 2,833 students. Among reported majors, Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians shows the strongest outcomes -- $64,798/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus. About 65% of students borrow federal loans here.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,833
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$17,1912024-25
In-state tuition & fees$5,7502024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$19,0432024-25
4-year grad rate27%
Median earnings, 10yr out$37,981

Out-of-state students pay $13,293 more per year in tuition and fees (3.3x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Savannah State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Savannah State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Savannah State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans65%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out20%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$45,983/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$46,957/yr
Accounting and Related Services$42,444/yr
Marketing$42,391/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$39,677/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Information Science/Studies$60,183/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians$64,798/yr
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$55,584/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other$58,382/yr
Criminal Justice and Corrections$51,430/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$39,208/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$48,594/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$49,360/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$53,906/yr
Sociology$43,690/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$33,175/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,803
Typical room charge$7,470
Typical board charge$2,150

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Savannah State University cost?

Savannah State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $17,191 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Savannah State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Savannah State University takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Savannah State University?

For 2024-25, Savannah State University's published tuition and required fees were $19,043 for out-of-state students and $5,750 for in-state students -- $13,293 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Savannah State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Savannah State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Savannah State University against another school?

Open the comparison view