College Intel
← Back to colleges

Philander Smith University

Private

Little Rock, AR

Visit website ↗

Philander Smith University is a private very small school in Little Rock, AR, enrolling about 751 undergraduates. Among reported majors, Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other shows the strongest outcomes -- $44,330/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus. About 58% of students borrow federal loans here.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads751
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$28,136
4-year grad rate31%
Median earnings, 10yr out$38,427

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Philander Smith University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Philander Smith University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans58%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out39%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$44,330/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$43,163/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity522
Typical room charge$5,192
Typical board charge$3,058

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Philander Smith University cost?

Philander Smith University's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,136 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Philander Smith University require students to live on campus?

No -- Philander Smith University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Philander Smith University against another school?

Open the comparison view