College Intel
← Back to colleges

Oglethorpe University

Private

Atlanta, GA

Visit website ↗

Oglethorpe University is a private small school in Atlanta, GA, enrolling about 1,352 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 88% of applicants. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services graduates, especially in Business Administration, Management and Operations, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $54,609/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate88%
SAT range1090–1310
ACT range22–31
Undergrads1,352
Yield (admits who enroll)21%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$60,581
4-year grad rate54%
Median earnings, 10yr out$55,232

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Oglethorpe University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Oglethorpe University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans68%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out47%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$54,609/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$48,774/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,396/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity796
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Oglethorpe University's acceptance rate?

Oglethorpe University in Atlanta, GA admits approximately 88% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Oglethorpe University?

Admitted students at Oglethorpe University typically score between 1090–1310 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Oglethorpe University?

Admitted students at Oglethorpe University typically score between 22–31 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Oglethorpe University cost?

Oglethorpe University's total cost of attendance is reported at $60,581 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Oglethorpe University require students to live on campus?

No -- Oglethorpe University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Oglethorpe University against another school?

Open the comparison view