College Intel
← Back to colleges

Oakland University

Public

Rochester Hills, MI

Visit website ↗

Oakland University is a public large school in Rochester Hills, MI, enrolling about 12,351 undergraduates. Oakland University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 88%. Among reported majors, Industrial Engineering shows the strongest outcomes -- $102,222/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate88%
SAT range1030–1230
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads12,351
Yield (admits who enroll)21%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,182
4-year grad rate57%
Median earnings, 10yr out$58,612

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Oakland University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Oakland University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans37%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out53%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$55,991/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$88,497/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$87,119/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$84,052/yr
Accounting and Related Services$82,699/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$79,127/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$70,347/yr
Marketing$69,448/yr
Business/Commerce, General$68,496/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$55,662/yr
Journalism$46,680/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$90,737/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$48,396/yr
Engineering
Industrial Engineering$102,222/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$99,967/yr
Mechanical Engineering$97,444/yr
Computer Engineering$95,843/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$48,101/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$41,443/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Public Health$85,266/yr
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$81,667/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$70,486/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$63,925/yr
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$54,767/yr
History
History$48,990/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Homeland Security$63,858/yr
Criminal Justice and Corrections$60,027/yr
Legal Professions and Studies
Non-Professional Legal Studies$48,323/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$63,534/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$57,531/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$59,922/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$45,141/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$55,754/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$71,874/yr
Political Science and Government$51,129/yr
Sociology$47,873/yr
Anthropology$46,628/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$47,432/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$44,270/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$43,186/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$39,442/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,694
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Oakland University's acceptance rate?

Oakland University in Rochester Hills, MI admits approximately 88% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Oakland University?

Admitted students at Oakland University typically score between 1030–1230 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Oakland University cost?

Oakland University's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,182 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Oakland University require students to live on campus?

No -- Oakland University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Oakland University against another school?

Open the comparison view