College Intel
← Back to colleges

North Carolina Central University

Public

Durham, NC

Visit website ↗

North Carolina Central University, in Durham, NC, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 6,081 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 87% of applicants. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $90,760/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate87%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range19–22
Undergrads6,081
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$26,556
4-year grad rate44%
Median earnings, 10yr out$42,968

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against North Carolina Central University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what North Carolina Central University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans63%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out25%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$54,192/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$78,048/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$54,999/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$42,085/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$43,230/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$88,053/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$53,794/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$47,124/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$46,136/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$90,760/yr
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration$88,454/yr
History
History$48,047/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$48,443/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$44,678/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$42,426/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$44,053/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$49,856/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$47,317/yr
Social Sciences, General$43,859/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$42,067/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,167
Typical room charge$6,556
Typical board charge$4,618

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is North Carolina Central University's acceptance rate?

North Carolina Central University in Durham, NC admits approximately 87% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for North Carolina Central University?

Admitted students at North Carolina Central University typically score between 19–22 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does North Carolina Central University cost?

North Carolina Central University's total cost of attendance is reported at $26,556 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does North Carolina Central University require students to live on campus?

No -- North Carolina Central University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing North Carolina Central University against another school?

Open the comparison view