College Intel
← Back to colleges

Lees-McRae College

Private

Banner Elk, NC

Visit website ↗

Lees-McRae College, in Banner Elk, NC, is a private very small school, enrolling around 873 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 77% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $87,523/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate77%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads873
Yield (admits who enroll)20%
Next deadlineDec 15, 2026 (EA)

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$49,498
4-year grad rate43%
Median earnings, 10yr out$43,415

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Lees-McRae College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Lees-McRae College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans59%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out55%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Zoology/Animal Biology$38,699/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$60,108/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,862/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$87,523/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$50,085/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$44,161/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Human Services, General$43,273/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity645
Typical room charge$5,400
Typical board charge$6,800

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Lees-McRae College's acceptance rate?

Lees-McRae College in Banner Elk, NC admits approximately 77% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Lees-McRae College cost?

Lees-McRae College's total cost of attendance is reported at $49,498 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

When is the application deadline for Lees-McRae College?

Lees-McRae College's earliest deadline is Dec 15, 2026 (EA), per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Lees-McRae College require students to live on campus?

No -- Lees-McRae College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Lees-McRae College against another school?

Open the comparison view