College Intel
← Back to colleges

Hartwick College

Private

Oneonta, NY

Visit website ↗

Hartwick College is a private small school in Oneonta, NY, enrolling about 1,087 undergraduates. Hartwick College is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 70%. Its highest-earning reported major is Sociology (Social Sciences), where graduates report median earnings of $65,765/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate70%
SAT range1070–1290
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,087
Yield (admits who enroll)16%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$68,614
4-year grad rate50%
Median earnings, 10yr out$61,107

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Hartwick College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Hartwick College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans81%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out70%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$61,662/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,065/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$65,765/yr
Political Science and Government$61,608/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,237
Typical room charge$7,272
Typical board charge$6,756

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Hartwick College's acceptance rate?

Hartwick College in Oneonta, NY admits approximately 70% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Hartwick College?

Admitted students at Hartwick College typically score between 1070–1290 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Hartwick College cost?

Hartwick College's total cost of attendance is reported at $68,614 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Hartwick College require students to live on campus?

No -- Hartwick College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Hartwick College against another school?

Open the comparison view