College Intel
← Back to colleges

Empire State University

Public

Saratoga Springs, NY

Visit website ↗

Empire State University is a public mid-sized school in Saratoga Springs, NY, enrolling about 7,585 undergraduates. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $102,384/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 34% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads7,585
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$19,699
4-year grad rate34%
Median earnings, 10yr out$54,080

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Empire State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Empire State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans34%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out42%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$69,365/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$58,129/yr
Education
Education, General$50,954/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other$54,265/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$102,384/yr
History
History$45,252/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$66,111/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Biological and Physical Sciences$71,066/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$57,379/yr
Physical Sciences
Physical Sciences, Other$71,805/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,979/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other$72,188/yr
Community Organization and Advocacy$56,825/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$61,925/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$43,473/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Empire State University cost?

Empire State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $19,699 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Empire State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Empire State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Empire State University against another school?

Open the comparison view