College Intel
← Back to colleges

CUNY City College

Public

New York, NY

Visit website ↗

Located in New York, NY, CUNY City College is a public large school with roughly 12,505 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 60% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $148,354/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate60%
SAT range1070–1430
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads12,505
Yield (admits who enroll)12%
Next deadlineSingle filing period

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$14,403
4-year grad rate56%
Median earnings, 10yr out$66,039

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against CUNY City College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what CUNY City College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans11%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out53%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$48,637/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$63,206/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$62,440/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$64,414/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$72,068/yr
Communication and Media Studies$69,948/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$116,238/yr
Education
Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education$68,614/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$55,895/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$117,131/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$97,698/yr
Mechanical Engineering$97,270/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$95,685/yr
Chemical Engineering$88,659/yr
Civil Engineering$87,957/yr
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering$87,804/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$47,753/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$34,212/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$148,354/yr
History
History$52,809/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$58,063/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$73,882/yr
Applied Mathematics$66,754/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$56,223/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$67,679/yr
Political Science and Government$59,540/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$59,039/yr
Sociology$55,683/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$46,801/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$45,656/yr
Music$44,058/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$32,769/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity589
Typical room charge$13,224
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is CUNY City College's acceptance rate?

CUNY City College in New York, NY admits approximately 60% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for CUNY City College?

Admitted students at CUNY City College typically score between 1070–1430 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does CUNY City College cost?

CUNY City College's total cost of attendance is reported at $14,403 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does CUNY City College require students to live on campus?

No -- CUNY City College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing CUNY City College against another school?

Open the comparison view