College Intel
← Back to colleges

Allen University

Private

Columbia, SC

Visit website ↗

Allen University is a private very small school in Columbia, SC, enrolling about 576 undergraduates. Allen University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 73%. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services graduates, especially in Business Administration, Management and Operations, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $45,474/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate73%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads576
Yield (admits who enroll)13%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,998
4-year grad rate13%
Median earnings, 10yr out$30,497

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Allen University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Allen University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans80%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out14%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$29,249/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$45,474/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$35,787/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$38,198/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity884
Typical room charge$2,888
Typical board charge$5,696

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Allen University's acceptance rate?

Allen University in Columbia, SC admits approximately 73% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Allen University cost?

Allen University's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,998 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Allen University require students to live on campus?

No -- Allen University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Allen University against another school?

Open the comparison view