College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Lynchburg

Private

Lynchburg, VA

Visit website ↗

University of Lynchburg, in Lynchburg, VA, is a private small school, enrolling around 1,577 students. University of Lynchburg is moderately selective, with an acceptance rate near 43%. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $77,007/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate43%
SAT range980–1230
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,577
Yield (admits who enroll)13%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$50,067
4-year grad rate60%
Median earnings, 10yr out$56,380

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Lynchburg's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Lynchburg weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans67%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out68%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$62,164/yr
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$59,744/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$63,736/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$46,733/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$47,536/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,007/yr
Public Health$57,945/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$55,883/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$53,009/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$48,610/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$75,903/yr
Criminology$48,597/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,247
Typical room charge$7,110
Typical board charge$5,950

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Lynchburg's acceptance rate?

University of Lynchburg in Lynchburg, VA admits approximately 43% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Lynchburg?

Admitted students at University of Lynchburg typically score between 980–1230 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Lynchburg cost?

University of Lynchburg's total cost of attendance is reported at $50,067 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Lynchburg require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Lynchburg doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Lynchburg against another school?

Open the comparison view