College Intel
← Back to colleges

The Catholic University of America

Private

Washington, DC

Visit website ↗

The Catholic University of America is a private mid-sized school in Washington, DC, enrolling about 3,154 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 83% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Accounting and Related Services (Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $114,909/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate83%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads3,154
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$75,481
4-year grad rate80%
Median earnings, 10yr out$73,250

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against The Catholic University of America's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what The Catholic University of America weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans48%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out76%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
Architecture$69,838/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$114,909/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$98,856/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$87,907/yr
Marketing$85,029/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$73,073/yr
Engineering
Civil Engineering$93,821/yr
Mechanical Engineering$90,355/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$81,519/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$96,949/yr
History
History$52,980/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Religion/Religious Studies$52,638/yr
Philosophy$49,378/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$52,846/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$65,185/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$91,962/yr
Political Science and Government$73,917/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$46,123/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,976
Typical room charge$9,590
Typical board charge$7,080

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is The Catholic University of America's acceptance rate?

The Catholic University of America in Washington, DC admits approximately 83% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does The Catholic University of America cost?

The Catholic University of America's total cost of attendance is reported at $75,481 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does The Catholic University of America require students to live on campus?

No -- The Catholic University of America doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing The Catholic University of America against another school?

Open the comparison view