College Intel
← Back to colleges

Stephen F Austin State University

Public

Nacogdoches, TX

Visit website ↗

Stephen F Austin State University is a public large school in Nacogdoches, TX, enrolling about 8,728 undergraduates. Stephen F Austin State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 94%. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $84,107/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate94%
SAT range970–1170
ACT range18–24
Undergrads8,728
Yield (admits who enroll)21%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,7912024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,1282024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$23,4262024-25
4-year grad rate53%
Median earnings, 10yr out$49,634

Out-of-state students pay $12,298 more per year in tuition and fees (2.1x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Stephen F Austin State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Stephen F Austin State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Stephen F Austin State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans41%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out52%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Animal Sciences$54,984/yr
Architecture and Related Services
Interior Architecture$59,047/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$54,199/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$69,635/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$65,535/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,185/yr
Business/Commerce, General$61,686/yr
Marketing$57,974/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$49,776/yr
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations$42,078/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$50,302/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$75,271/yr
Engineering
Engineering Physics$80,086/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$46,849/yr
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$34,743/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$57,742/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$44,600/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$51,494/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$84,107/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$61,476/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$52,716/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$51,393/yr
History
History$48,680/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$58,606/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$59,075/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$50,052/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$56,437/yr
Forestry$55,786/yr
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$54,077/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$55,250/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$43,697/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$50,754/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$49,980/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Dance$57,593/yr
Music$52,341/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$41,450/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$38,042/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity4,441
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Stephen F Austin State University's acceptance rate?

Stephen F Austin State University in Nacogdoches, TX admits approximately 94% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Stephen F Austin State University?

Admitted students at Stephen F Austin State University typically score between 970–1170 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Stephen F Austin State University?

Admitted students at Stephen F Austin State University typically score between 18–24 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Stephen F Austin State University cost?

Stephen F Austin State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,791 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Stephen F Austin State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Stephen F Austin State University takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Stephen F Austin State University?

For 2024-25, Stephen F Austin State University's published tuition and required fees were $23,426 for out-of-state students and $11,128 for in-state students -- $12,298 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Stephen F Austin State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Stephen F Austin State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Stephen F Austin State University against another school?

Open the comparison view