College Intel
← Back to colleges

South Carolina State University

Public

Orangeburg, SC

Visit website ↗

South Carolina State University, in Orangeburg, SC, is a public small school, enrolling around 2,934 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 83% of applicants. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services graduates, especially in Computer and Information Sciences, General, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $66,821/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate83%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,934
Yield (admits who enroll)16%
Next deadlineDec 1, 2026 (RD)

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$30,015
4-year grad rate33%
Median earnings, 10yr out$38,262

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against South Carolina State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what South Carolina State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans67%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out29%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$37,940/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$48,108/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$33,586/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$66,821/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$41,075/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$63,129/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$40,050/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$45,061/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,454
Typical room charge$6,600
Typical board charge$3,290

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is South Carolina State University's acceptance rate?

South Carolina State University in Orangeburg, SC admits approximately 83% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does South Carolina State University cost?

South Carolina State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $30,015 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

When is the application deadline for South Carolina State University?

South Carolina State University's earliest deadline is Dec 1, 2026 (RD), per its own published admissions calendar.

Does South Carolina State University require students to live on campus?

No -- South Carolina State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing South Carolina State University against another school?

Open the comparison view